SCPA Secretaries Cup 2022

Secretary’s Cup 2022

Playing amongst the acorns gave a nice autumnal feel to the 2022 SCPA Secretary’s Cup at Fareham - a competition for committee members as a ‘thank you’ in recognition of the work they put in on behalf of their clubs and/or region. 14 of our 21 clubs were represented and most of the regional committee.

Portchester was represented by the triples team; Tom Williams, Mark Hindry, Tony Simmonds.

The 15 teams played leagues in the morning ( 3 leagues of 4 and one of 3) with league winners and next best 4 going through to the Main and the remaining 7 going into the Plate. There were consolages at both levels which meant everyone one had at least 5 games during the day, unless they drew a bye.

The weather was fairly kind to us, only a couple of downpours during the day. There were some closely fought battles, especially in the final of the Main which eventually led to Adur retaining the title from last year.

Portchester finished the day at the Main competition semi-final stage (top 4 teams) after 4 wins and 1 loss, losing to eventual winners, Adur. To be noted, team Portchester managed a dominant win over England players playing for River Hamble along the way!

Many thanks to Fareham PC for hosting the event.


The results were:

Main Winners - Adur - Graham Elcome, Grant and Sandra Goodwin

Main Rs-up - Norfolk and Chance - Carrie Litchfield, Dave Kilshaw, Sue MacAleese

Main Semi - Portchester - Tony Simmonds, Mark Hindry, Tom Williams

Main Semi - Combined - Hassi Leverett, Dave Stubbs, Mark Robertshaw


Main Cons Winners - River Hamble - Mark Duncan, Will Read, Steve Lombard

Main Cons Rs-up - Handcross - Tony Kidd, Brenda Steptoe, Gerard Poirier

Main Cons Semi - Arundel - Steve Love, Sue Sandy, Chris Warren-Adamson, Kath Knight

Main Cons Semi - Cobbetts 1 - Chris Barron, Ali Stubbs, Graham Blake


Plate Winners - Crondall/Bordon - Colin Crofts, Paul Myers, Chris Turner

Plate Rs-up - Worthing - Bob Ainsworth, Martin Gordon, Lesley McMurdie

Plate Semi - Southsea - Trevor Treend, Maureen Lee, Alan Blay

Plate Semi - Clymping - Greg Silverson, Anita Ricards, Wesley McCulough


Plate Cons Winners - Bedouins - Ernest Harrison, Sandy Stowell, Jeremy Sharples

Plate Cons Rs-up - Cobbetts 2 - Bernie Miles, Terri Cox, Viv Tilbury

Plate Semi - Oxshott - Richard Foulsham, Barry McDonnell, Celia Rawlings



October 30, 2022

Website Created & Hosted with Website Builder